Where is Vanuatu?

A lot of people have asked, so here is a nice little map to give perspective.

Vanuatu is 3/4 of the way from Hawaii to Australia and is made up of over 80 islands of which about 65 are inhabited.  Vanuatu is in a Y-shaped chain with four main islands, having a tropical climate which is moderated by southeast trade winds from May to October with moderate rainfall from November to April.  The “Cyclone Season” is from December to April and there have been volcanic eruptions on Aoba (Ambae) Island since November 2005.  The highest point is Tabwemasana at 1877 meters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *